Note from State Meet

On my way back home from Fresno, I thought about a few things.

I don’t know how to articulate it into words but this is my best attempt.

The people in cross country are truly unique and special. There’s something that hits me every time I’m with them. These girls I’m surrounded by aren’t your average teenage girls. As cliché as it sounds, they’re individual thinkers. These people aren’t afraid of being a little different, a little opinionated, or a little passionate.

Maddie, Chantal, and Aileen are asleep right now. And I’m just sitting here writing this for no apparent reason other than I just feel something. Looking out the window, I realize they have something I don’t.I don’t know what it is but something in me isn’t in them. Something about the way I think and act is just different. It’s not a bad thing that I feel different with them. It’s just different.

When I was in band, everyone was so careful. Fearing a change in social status if we spoke out against something. I used to try pleasing every last person. Keeping my head down and my feet in line. Voicing my opinion seemed useless as it will most likely be reduced to whispers behind a person’s back rather than suggestions. I’m not saying that’s not happening now, but no one in xc is completely isolated.

That kind of blows my mind. Xc is just so different from the rest of our school. I didn’t know you can be happy without an entourage of friends. But this year, it really hit me how important a small group of amazing people who love you and vice versa are. I literally couldn’t have asked for a better senior year family. I thank my lucky stars for them.

While sometimes I’ll feel left out of their conversations or actions, I know they still got my back regardless. Its an amazing thing to know and I’m truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

