AHS XC 2014

It hasn’t hit me yet.

The idea that this marks the end of running in an Arcadia singlet for Arcadia cross country hasn’t hit me.

Over the past year, Cross Country has given me so much. It has blessed me with so much.

The first day I walked to practice I only knew three people. I found out they’re way faster than me 400 meters into practice, and decided I was an idiot for wanting to join as an already academically overwhelmed Junior.

Yesterday when I walked to practice, I was greeted by an amazing group of people that I knew by name, shoes, and running gear. I have a group of people I can run with, and decide on a daily basis that I’m an idiot for not joining this sport sooner.

Never have I met a group of people I hold so dear. They are my family. There has been so many ups and downs. Through thick and thin they have stuck by me as I have held on to them. I appreciate them for so many things they do. I really thank God for these beautiful people everyday.

Honestly, I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for them. I have gone to some very dark places and if it weren’t for them, I wouldn’t have seen a light at the end of the tunnel. I remember breaking down and crying at practice because I just felt so damn lost, but they helped me find my way. As cliched and stupid as it sounds, they’re my guardian angels. Everything they have ever done for me. It’s ridiculous.

It’s so scary to think this was my last race. At this point last year I cried because it was my first injury. This year I didn’t cry, I laughed and cheered my team mates on all the way because I knew for a fact running was out of the question for me. I’m going to miss this so much. I’m going to miss the late nights out with the team, returning home from a meet in the unholy hours of the morning. I’m going to miss having pasta feasts and laughing at the boy’s stupid jokes. I’m going to miss running with these girls knowing they’ve got my back and I’ve got their’s. I’m going to miss waking up for those really ridiculously early practices. I’m going to miss grabbing food after said practices. I’m going to miss falling asleep on Jessie’s shoulder. I’m going to miss listening to music from one set of earphones with her. I’m going to miss looking at all the girls and thinking to myself “how in the world did I end up with these gorgeous people as my friends?”. I’m going to miss so many things and more.

It’s scary.

I’m a senior, I’m counting down the days until I say goodbye to everything I find comforting and familiar.

This marks the end of my cross country journey.

And I feel blessed….

Thank you. To all of you.

Just felt appropriate.

Leave a Reply

